Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Always Inspiring

(Video) The BEST of the STORY! Become a MARKETING Storyteller

The future will be won by the storytellers - and that means YOU!

Here’s the recording from our webinar all about storytelling

(You may need to log in to watch the full session for free.)

Download the webinar notebook to take notes as you watch the video.

Storytelling as Marketing

We tell stories all the time. This is something that comes naturally to us, but for some reason, when it comes to marketing, we take on another language or another persona that isn’t personal and it certainly isn’t us.

Storytelling is a great way to transform our marketing into something even more powerful, something we call moments of time well spent. So here are some techniques for turning your marketing into storytelling in which you can make an impact and differentiate your message to your clients, friends, sphere of influence, prospects and colleagues.

We are Storymakers

You know me, once I start telling stories, we'll go all day if we want. And that's because I love stories. Speaking of stories here's a quick one. As I was brushing my teeth the morning right before recording this webinar, my mentor texted me a quote, so I thought I would just start with it this morning.

He said he's reading a new book called Braiding Sweetgrass, written by a Native American Ph.D. in chemistry, and it opens with this wonderful quote,

“We are storymakers, not just storytellers.”

I think it's a wonderful way to think about what we're doing when we tell a story: we're also making a story with our audience. Whether it's one-on-one, or whether it's in a large broadcast format, written in a newsletter, or shared on social media, we’re actually making stories as well as telling stories.

The Future Belongs to Storytellers - and That Means YOU!

I think that storytellers in our society and around the world have always been able to catch people's attention and shape a bit of their future. I think this is particularly true in the business of helping people in the journey of home ownership.

Remember, homeownership is just a vehicle for helping people become the next best version of themselves. And so storytelling is a powerful tool for envisioning that person. And in comparison to some of the content that's being produced out there, which is mainly fear-based and anxiety-driven, I think that storytelling is a treat.

It's a treat for us to create. It's a treat for us to share with our customers and clients who can have a chance to take a deep breath and envision a different way of thinking about what is important to them.

So we should focus on doing storytelling better!

Also Because Advertisers are Insane!

The funny thing about advertising is something happens when you start thinking about advertising versus storytelling….

Look at this crazy, block of text below. Some years ago, when I was about to prepare my first Storytelling Workshop. I was listening to the radio and this ad came on to Bloomberg radio. And as I was getting ready for my class, I was listening to this and I thought, “This is utterly insane.”

For example….

Read this out loud and tell me if this sounds like a good advertising campaign. Does this inspire you to pick up the phone and give these guys a call?

First of all, there are way too many big nonsense words in here. And secondly, I have no idea what half of those words mean. How am I supposed to connect with it as a customer? We see this all the time, which is why I think too many advertisers are insane. They get all caught up in sounding “official” and “important” and use jargon - and ultimately have NO connection to the audience.

I want you to FORGET about advertising speak. I want to give you the opportunity. instead of using storytelling to effectively connect with your audience.

BUT this Insanity Exists in Real Estate Too

Let me show you a listing I found on a major real estate portal…


Download the whole slide deck and see more about how to tell great stories and my top formula for how to share effective stories for your marketing … 👇👇👇

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Always Inspiring to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Always Inspiring
Always Inspiring Podcast
Matthew Ferrara's stories, ideas and photography. Optimistic, inspiring and definitely Good news. And sometimes about the wonderful world of real estate.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Matthew Ferrara